How to Share via the Mobile App
Share on Mobile
If you are in the mobile app and viewing content in a feed, shareable content will have a button in the bottom right for sharing. Depending on your phone maker and version of the application, the share icon may look like:
or or even
After you select share, a window will pop up asking which app you'd like to share to. The share options are based on applications installed on your phone with compatible "native sharing", such as Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook, Gmail, Buffer, Evernote, Notes, etc.
Most applications will present a preview of the share. Some content cards will have pre-populated share text that has been written by your Program Manager, which you can use to post quickly or customize to capture your own voice. If there is no pre-populated text, make sure to write at least a short note and if your program has a hashtag, include that hashtag during the share. Watch for character limits, and click to post your share.
SocialChorus leverages "native sharing" on both Android and iOS phones. This means that you can share to any application installed on your phone that has native sharing capabilities. For example, from the app, you can share to:
- traditional social networks like Twitter, LinkedIn, and Facebook
- international social networks like Weibo
- internal networks like Slack, Chatter, and Yammer
- messaging apps like Message, Email, and Gmail
- productivity apps like Evernote and Pocket
While sharing, click the "More" (on iOS) and "Other" (on Android) options to view the complete list of sharing options.
How to Share via the Web Experience
Share on Web
If you are looking at shareable content in your feed, there will be a Share icon on the content card. Click the share icon and choose the social network that you would like to share to. From the web experience, the share options will depend on your program's configuration. You may see LinkedIn, Twitter, and Facebook, or you may only see LinkedIn and Twitter. This depends on if your program has Native Sharing or API Sharing enabled. This is determined by your program managers.
Most applications will present a preview of the share. Some content cards will have pre-populated share text that has been written by your Program Manager, which you can use to post quickly or customize to capture your own voice. If there is no pre-populated text, make sure to write at least a short note and if your program has a hashtag, include that hashtag during the share. Watch out for character limits!
When you share a piece of content on web, if you click the information button, you'll see the Share button is blue. Content that has not been shared yet displays with a black Share button.
If your program has Native Sharing on web enabled, you will have the option to share to Twitter, Facebook, or LinkedIn. You can share content immediately to your social networks without needing to connect the social network in web experience. However, you can still choose to connect the social network account so that you program managers can track the engagements on your share made on behalf of the program.
If your program has API Sharing on web enabled, you will only be able to share to Twitter or LinkedIn only (Facebook not available). When you're ready to post the message, you will see Share Now and Add to Queue. Share Now is immediate, Add to Queue lets us determine an optimal time to post the message, or schedule for the future by checking the Advanced Scheduling box. You can later manage queued or scheduled shares through the Share Queue. The time you select for when to share your content is pulled from your device's time. For example, if your computer is in Pacific Time, your share will go out at the time you select in PST.
You will need to sign into the social network on the web experience before sharing.
Connect Social Accounts
Connecting a social account in the web experience will enable Program Managers to see that you're a top advocate - whether you share from the web or mobile app.
- Log into the web experience.
- Click on your account picture and name at the top right and choose Profile.
- Choose Social Accounts from the menu on the left.
- Click on the Connect button next to the social network you would like to link to your account, and follow the prompts.
Once your social account is synced, your SocialChorus profile will update to the account photo and name of the chosen social account. While actively connected, the option to Disconnect the social network will appear on the Social Accounts page.
The social account connections can expire (usually around 60 days), so you may need to reconnect every few months. The SocialChorus application will notify you if the connection needs to be re-established.
Social Account Authorization Note