This article reviews how to create and manage commentable content from Studio. Details about the member experience with commenting are outlined in Comment on Content.
If you do not see commentable settings when creating or editing a content card in Studio, the feature may be disabled for your program. If you believe the feature should be enabled for your program, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Turning Commentable ON
Any Studio user who has access to the Planner page can set content as a Commentable - Channel Contributors, Publishers, Program Managers, and Administrators. The Commentable setting is available for all content types.
While creating or editing a card in Studio, make sure the Commentable indicator is set to ON.
When commenting is turned on for a post, members will see the commenting icon on the content card in the mobile app and web experience. Members can then interact using the commenting tool.
Note: you can choose the default behavior (ON or OFF) of your commentable setting. Reach out to email@example.com if you would like to change the current default behavior of your program.
Comments can only be viewed by members of the web experience and the mobile app. This means that if you have, for example, an article set to both Shareable ON and Commentable ON, when the post is shared with an external network the users that open the shareable link will not see any comments associated with the post.
Turn Commentable OFF
If the commentable toggle is switched to OFF at any time, app users are no longer able to access the comments that have already been posted and can not create new comments. All comments that were already posted can still be viewed in Studio. Turning commentable back to ON again will restore the comments that were already made.
Anyone with access to the Publish section (Channel Contributors, Publishers, Program Managers, and Administrators) can view comments. Click the comment icon in the content card in Studio to view the comments on that post. Every comment will have author attribution: first name, last name, and avatar (if available) are displayed on the comment. You can delete comments whether they are flagged or not.
Planner Page Example
Musical notes like ♪♪♪♪ are displayed when a user attempts to comment using a banned term. Comments with banned terms are posted successfully, but the banned term is replaced with musical notes as the user types. The original word is not displayed in the member experience or Studio. Banned terms are not automatically flagged.
Note: The blacklist of banned terms applies to ALL organizations and programs, and cannot be customized at the organization or program level. The banned terms are in English only.
Filter to See Flagged Comments
Members can flag comments for review using the report option. Once a comment is flagged, on the Planner page, you'll see a red indicator on the alert bell at the top right corner. Click on the "flagged comments" text to filter the page to show only content with flagged comments. View the comments for a specific post to see if the flagged comments need to be deleted or you can remove the flag (see Delete Comments).
If a Member has disqualified themselves from participating in the community, you can block them from the Users page (see Manage Studio and Experience Access).
On the Planner page, you can also manually filter to flagged comments by opening the filters dialogue and choosing "flagged comments". The filter will apply to the current view - day, week, month, or list.
You can delete a comment whether it is flagged or not.
Comments must be deleted individually. A deleted comment will no longer be accessible in Studio, the mobile app, or web experience. It is not possible to undo the delete action.
View comments for a specific post.
Click delete comment to permanently remove a comment.
If a comment has been flagged, you can choose to either delete comment or just remove flag.
Post authors are alerted by in-app notifications to comments and likes on their own posts, as well as when someone @mentions them in comments on any post. If the program has an active email campaign based on the “watched content digest” template, users will also receive an email notification of activity around their comments.
This means that a Studio user will only receive the in-app notifications or emails if they are set as the author of the post. The author is the name and avatar displayed as the post source.
There are currently no push or email campaigns to notify Studio users of comment activity or comment flags on posts published under Program Name. However, you can access all comments for all posts, view all comments on a specific post, and see which posts have flagged comments from Studio.
Refer to the article Publish as Different Author for more details about how a Studio user can set the author to a specific user or to the Program Name.