This article reviews how to create and manage posts enabled as Shareable from Studio. Details from the member's perspective are outlined in Share content.
Making content shareable encourages your employees to take content from your program into their social networks.
Turning Shareable ON
Any Studio user who has access to the Planner page can set content as a Shareable - Topic Managers, Publishers, Program Managers, and Administrators. The Shareable setting is available for all content types except Notes.
Content can be set as Shareable while creating the card or while editing a card, just slide the indicator for Shareable from OFF to ON. Setting Shareable to ON turns on the share icon on the content card in the member’s mobile app or web experience, and opens up the Share Message dialogue for the Studio user.
After setting a post to shareable, you can craft a suggested share message for users. This share message can be edited by users and will be suggested to users depending on which network they share to and which configuration your program.
We recommend using less than 280 characters. Your share message can be longer than 280 characters, but may be cut off by the social network. Note that the character count includes the share message, link (23 characters), and appended hashtag (if applicable), as well as spaces between each letter.
Depending on your program's configuration and the target social media platform, the share message may pre-populate with the program’s appended hashtag(s).
Note: The prepopulated share message and appended hashtag may only appear when sharing to Twitter. Facebook policy prohibits the use of prepopulated share messages, and LinkedIn appears to be implementing a similar policy (the exact behavior with LinkedIn depends on the user's device and LinkedIn mobile app version).
Turning Shareable OFF
Marking a previously shareable post as non-shareable will remove the public-facing page that was associated with that post. The post will still be accessible to users of your app, but not to the public. Note that, if the post has already been shared out, the shared links will no longer work if the post is made non-shareable, or if the post is archived.
Members of the public will see something like this for any already-shared posts:
Please note, setting Shareable to OFF does not prevent users from downloading content or taking screenshots. The Shareable setting only controls whether the share icon is presented to users and whether public users can access the shared link to the post.
What Members & The Public See
In your program's experience, Members can see the share icon on shareable posts. For more details about the Member's sharing experience, please refer to the Share Content article.
Shareable posts are available publicly on the world wide web. Where non-shareable posts are only accessible to members of your program, shareable posts are accessible via a public link, which employees can share anywhere and with anyone. The public version of the post does not display comments, likes, or other engagement features that signed-in members can see.
Below we have screenshots contrasting what a member of your community can see while signed in versus what a member of the public sees when they click on a shared article. The exact experience will be different for different types of content, but this helps show that the public version is just the content itself.
Member Experience (When Signed In)
Because your program branding may differ between internal and public-facing branding, the web page banner image is configured separately. Internal posts are displayed under the Program Header and shared posts are displayed under the External Program Header.