Manage Studio and Experience Access

/*image outlines*/

Who Can Access Your Employee Experience

New members can find your program via the app stores, links that your company has shared directly with users, and they can also be imported and then invited from Studio. Some users may also discover your program via Invite A Colleague links.

Therefore, controlling who can complete registration requires configuring your program's Authentication Options.

Once a member's email or universal identifier is in the program (either via import or they registered), you can cut off access for that particular user using Block & Demote.

Who Can Sign Into Studio

In contrast to the employee experience, Studio can only be accessed by individuals that have been explicitly granted permission via a Program Role that would allow Studio access.

In order to grant access to Studio, the user must appear on the Users page. Therefore, there are different steps to take if the user you want to grant permission to is a new user or existing user.

Access to Studio can be terminated at any time by blocking or demoting a Studio user from a Studio-level role to Member.

Grant Studio Access to a New User

If the user does not have an account with your program, you can either manually add them to the program or import them.

  • Added users are automatically sent an invitation to Studio - they can follow the link in the invitation to create a password.
  • Imported Studio users can be invited to Studio via invitations.
  • Alternatively, once added to the program with a Studio-level role, Studio users can go straight to Studio and click Forgot Password to trigger a password reset email. Once they set a password, they can sign into Studio.

If you see "email value has already been taken" while using Add Program User with an email that is already listed on the Users page, or you see "Duplicate" when adding a user via Import Users, please edit the already existing user's role using View/Edit as outlined in Grant Studio Access to An Existing User.

Grant Studio Access to an Existing User

If the user already has an account with your program, you can click on View/Edit to change their role.

  1. Sign into Studio and navigate to the Users page.
  2. Find the user on the Users page. You can use search, filters, or sort.
  3. Click the three dots to the right of the user's name and select View/Edit.
  4. Under Program Role, select the role that you want to grant the user.
    • If you select the Channel Contributor role, you will see a field to select which channels the user has access to. Click Assign to Channels to open up the full channels list. Add at least 1 channel from the list.

      Screen_Shot_2019-06-04_at_2.34.53_PM.png
  5. Click Save.

If the user is promoted from Member to a role with access to Studio, they will receive an automated email invite to join Studio which states who invited them and gives them a link to Studio.

If they already have an email-based password for the employee experience, they can sign into Studio now. If they do not have an email-based password, they must create one using the invitation to Studio or using Studio's "forgot password".

Reset Password For Another User

Note: This Reset Password feature is not available for programs that have SSO sign-in enabled. Most SSO sign-in issues must be resolved by your internal IT team, as outlined in this article about SSO sign-in issues.

Studio users with the Administrator or Program Manager role can reset the password of any user by clicking the Reset Password link from within the user's profile.

Administrators can reset passwords for: Administrators, Program Managers, Publishers, Channel Contributors, Analysts, and Members.

Program Managers can reset passwords for: Program Managers, Publishers, Channel Contributors, Analysts, and Members.

  1. Sign into Studio and navigate to the Users page.
  2. Find the user on the Users page. You can use search, filters, or sort.
  3. Click the three dots to the right of the user's name and select View/Edit.
  4. Click Reset Password.
  5. Copy the unique URL and send the link to the user requesting the password reset.

    Screen_Shot_2019-02-13_at_1.11.51_PM.png

    Screen_Shot_2019-02-13_at_12.44.33_PM.png

This link will be valid for 1 hour. After 1 hour, the link with expire and you will need to request a new link. Clicking the Reset Password link multiple times will also invalidate any older links that have been created.

The password reset link is for both Employee Experience and Studio accounts (if the user has a role with access to Studio).

Terminate Access to Experience and Studio

On the Users page, click on the three dots to the right of a user's name to select Block & Demote User. This action completes the following:

  • The user will become Blocked, which terminates their access to all parts of the program (web experience, mobile app, Studio, etc.) and the user will no longer receive emails from the program.
  • If the user has a Studio-level role, they are demoted to Member. This demotion will stop the user from accessing Studio even if they are unblocked.
  • No notification is sent to the user regarding becoming blocked or demoted.

Terminate Access to Studio Only

You can demote any Studio user without blocking them in the employee experience by manually demoting their role.

  1. Sign into Studio and navigate to the Users page.
  2. Find the user on the Users page. You can use search, filters, or sort.
  3. Click the three dots to the right of the user's name and select View/Edit.
  4. Under Program Role, select Member.
  5. Click Save.

Demoted users do not receive an email.

Unblock and Re-Promote

If a user is currently Blocked and you want to re-grant access to the employee experience, click on the three dots to the right of a user's name and select Unblock. This will restore the user to the same Experience Status that the user had before being Blocked (Created, Registering, Registered, etc.).

To restore Studio access, you must edit the user's role back to a Studio-level role. See Grant Studio Access to An Existing User.

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.